梁医生(Dr. Peter Leung,) M.D., FRCS©

梁医生于1977年毕业于多伦多大学医学院,之后继续在麦吉尔大学及不列颠哥伦比亚大学接受妇产科专科培训。

在不列颠哥伦比亚大学做住院医生实习期间,他对不孕不育,手术和内分泌领域特别感兴趣。他在不孕不育研究方面很活跃,并获得多项加拿大医学研究委员会的研究资助。他在人为干预排卵领域发表了多篇论文。

1981年,梁医生完成住院医实习任务后,有机会参加澳大利亚墨尔本皇家妇女医院的开创性研究工作。这是世界上第二例通过试管婴儿技术成功妊娠的医疗中心。在当时,试管婴儿技术的研究还处于起步阶段。通过数个月的努力,他在临床和实验室研究方面的优秀成果使他成为了该团队的正式成员。并成为该大学的高级研究员。他的一篇研究论文被1982年澳大利亚生育协会授予最佳科学论文奖。

他发表了许多研究成果, 1984年发表的论文关于用于体内人工授精和试管婴儿的精子洗涤的技术,目前仍在世界范围内广泛使用。

返回加拿大后,梁医生在哥伦比亚大学任教短暂的一段时间。随后他回到多伦多,带领一个新手医生团队。 为满足大量不孕不育患者的需求, 1987年,加拿大试管婴儿中心成立,他是该中心创始团队人之一。他曾担任过医学和实验室主任。在他工作的这些年里,该团队创造了许多的生殖技术领域里的“加拿大第一”的记录: 包括第一次使用捐卵,胚胎冷冻,代孕和通过卵胞浆内单精子注射(ICSI)的胚胎怀孕,等。

梁医生是加拿大生育与男科学会和美国生育协会的成员。他于1983年获得加拿大皇家内科医师学院的认证

Dr. Peter Leung, M.D., FRCS©

Dr. Peter C.S. Leung graduated from the University of Toronto School of Medicine in 1977. He continued with his training in Obstetrics and Gynaecology at the McGill University and the University of British Columbia.

During his years of residency at UBC, he had special interest in the area of infertility, surgery and endocrinology. He was active in the infertility research and was awarded multiple medical Research Council of Canada research grants. He published several papers in the area of ovulation induction.

In 1981, upon completion of his residency Dr. Leung was offered the opportunity to participate in the pioneering research work at the Royal Women’s Hospital of University Melbourne, Australia. At that time, it was the second centre in the world to achieve successful IVF pregnancy. The research in this area was still in its infancy. Within a few months, his excellent works in both clinical and laboratory research earned him a full member of the team.He became a senior research fellow at the university. One of his research paper was awarded best scientific paper by the Australian Fertility Society in 1982.

His many publications included a paper on a sperm wash method for intrauterine insemination and ivf in 1984, which is currently used worldwide. He also participated in the writing of a chapter on advances in a prestigious infertility text book in 1986.

Upon return to Canada, Dr. Leung spent a brief period of time as a teaching fellow at the University of British Colombia. He subsequently returned to Toronto and led a novice team of physicians. In 1987, he was in the team started the IVF Canada clinic in Scarborough to satisfy the demand of large number of patients. He once worked as the medical and laboratory director. Through those years in Toronto, the team became the first in Canada to accomplish successes in many areas of advanced reproductive technology including donor eggs, embryo freezing, surrogacy and pregnancy from intracytoplasmic sperm injection (ICSI).

Dr. Leung is a member of Canadian Fertility and Andrology Society and American Fertility Society. He was certified by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada in 1983.